The Northern California Law Enforcement Torch Run is run by a Torch Run Director, Assistant Director and State Committee. At the direction of the Torch Run Leadership, the LETR Executive Committee meet regularly and include key LETR members from across the state. The committee is responsible for providing input and insight to the statewide efforts and helping to communicate information back to their local agencies.

Our Law Enforcement Executive Committee members have years of Special Olympics and Torch Run experience between them.  Their goal is to serve as a resource to agencies who are new to the Torch Run or are interested in increasing their involvement through fundraising and public awareness. 


State Director
Deputy Chief Aaron Johnson, Rohnert Park Department of Public Safety

Assistant State Directorr
Cristal Sanchez, Monterey County Probation Department 

CDCR Chair

Deputy Director Liz Gransee, Health Care Communications - California Correctional Heath Care ServiceCalifornia Department of Corrections & Rehabilitation

CHP Chair
Captain Chris Sherry, California Highway Patrol

Torch Run Chair
Sgt. John Hohmann (Retired), Scotts Valley Police Department 

Regional Directors

The LETR Regional Directors are responsible for overseeing their respective area in regards to LETR involvement, engagement, growth and support of Special Olympics area activities.

Region 1 – Sgt. Freddie Henson, Fresno County Sheriff’s Office
County Responsibility: Fresno, Kings, Madera, Tulare

Region 2 – OPEN

Region 3 – Damian Camarena, Santa Clara County Sheriff’s Office
County Responsibility: San Francisco, San Mateo, Santa Clara

Region 4 – Jeff Godfrey, Ceres Police Department
County Responsibility: Alpine, Amador, Calaveras, Mariposa, Merced, Mono, Stanislaus, Tuolumne

Region 5 – Yanneth Contrada, Fremont Police Department
County Responsibility: Alameda, Contra Costa

Region 6 – Therese Giannelli, CDCR – California State Prison, Sacramento
County Responsibility: El Dorado, Nevada, Placer, Sacramento, San Joaquin, Yolo

Region 7 – Sgt. Todd Shulman, Napa Police Department
County Responsibility: Marin, Napa, Solano, Sonoma

Region 8 – OPEN
County Responsibility: Butte, Colusa, Del Norte, Glenn, Humboldt, Lake, Lassen, Mendocino, Modoc, Plumas, Shasta, Sierra, Siskiyou, Sutter, Tehama, Trinity, Yuba

LETR Committee At Large Representatives

Sgt. Jennifer Coats, Berkeley Police Department
Jodi Cornell, Pleasant Hill Police Department
Captain Marlaina Dernoncourt, CDCR – California State Prison, Solano
Therese Giannelli, CDCR – California State Prison, Sacramento
Jeff Godfrey, Livingston Police Department
Kerri Hansen, Alameda County Sheriff’s Office
Sgt. Nick Mavrakis, BART Police Department
Lt. Raymond Winters, San Francisco County Sheriff’s Department

Special Olympics Athlete Appointees

Jonathan Sparks
Christy Dodge

LETR Staff

LETR Liaison
Katie Ostrom – Senior Director, Law Enforcement Torch Run

Allie Bakalar – Coordinator, LETR Fundraising & Events

Learn more about letr

Get involved

Find out how to get your agency involved!  Join the ranks of over 3,500 Law Enforcement personnel!

Torch Run and Summer Games

Join us for the premier Law Enforcement Torch Run events of the year!

Follow the Torch Run Flame of Hope

Be a runner and escort the Special Olympics Torch to Summer Games!

LETR Resources

We have the tools and resources to help you run a successful LETR campaign.

About the Law Enforcement Torch Run

Learn about the Law Enforcement Torch Run and its involvement with Special Olympics!