SONC Honors 2019 Volunteers of the Year

Volunteers of the Year graphic on a purple background

Special Olympics Northern California (SONC) is proud to recognize an outstanding group of individuals and corporations as the 2019 Volunteers of the Year. The Volunteers of the Year were selected after a lengthy nomination process and exemplify the passion, dedication and love of the more than 28,000 volunteers who support SONC annually. SONC honored the 2019 Volunteers of the Year during a live Awards Show streamed online on October 18, 2020. 

Congratulations and thank you to the 2019 Volunteers of the Year!


Coach of the Year:

Jack Nagle, Alameda County 
Role: Basketball and Soccer Coach 

From his nominations: 
“Jack welcomed me in as a coach and fostered a community among all of the volunteers, which extended to the athletes and families, creating a network that supported the teams at weekly practices and events. People came to cheer athletes on, teams were fielded across skill levels, and everyone thrived on the energy. Jack deserves all of the credit for building this culture for Team Oakland.”   


Healthy Athletes Volunteer of the Year:

Beth Lannon, Ed.D., Contra Costa County 
Role:  Clinical Director, Healthy Hearing Program 

From her nominations: 
“Beth has put a tremendous amount of time and dedication in to the Healthy Athletes program, and has made appearances on SONC’s behalf to medical students.  She is also an important advocate for the program as a Global Clinical Advisor for Special Olympics International.”   


Law Enforcement Torch Run (LETR) Volunteer of the Year:

Cristal Sanchez, Monterey County 
Role: LETR Executive Committee Member, Fundraiser, Event Organizer  

From her nominations: 

“Cristal has been on the LETR Executive Committee for the last five years, and has coordinated events in Monterey County for several years, including the Torch Run.  She created the Battle of Badges event in 2019, has been a fundraiser, and participated in Summer Games and as team captain at the Santa Cruz Polar Plunge.  Her involvement has shown her to be compassionate and empathetic to others.”   


Philanthropy Corporate Partner of the Year: 

Cohesity, Inc., San Francisco County 

From SONC President & CEO David Solo: 

“We're so grateful to foster long-term relationships with our corporate partners and can't thank Cohesity enough for their dedication and support. Cohesity believes in our mission to enrich the lives of children and adults with intellectual disabilities through sports, and is playing an active role to build a more inclusive world. We are proud to recognize Cohesity as our 2019 Corporate Philanthropy Volunteer of the Year and look forward to growing the partnership in the future.”


Rookie Volunteer of the Year: 

Christina Bacci, Marin County 
Role: Coach 

From her nominations: 
“Christina deserves acknowledgement for not only her commitment to Special Olympics, but for striving to learn and be the best that she can be for our athletes. We are all proud to have her involved in our Special Olympics Family.”   


Schools Partnership Program Volunteer of the Year: 

Joey Stein, El Dorado County 
Role: Teacher, El Dorado County Office of Education 

From his nominations: 
“It’s very apparent at any El Dorado County competition, from elementary soccer to high school track and field, that the students are teammates and friends, both on and off the field, and a lot of that is thanks to Joey for educating everyone involved about the true spirit of Unified Sports.”   


Sports Volunteer of the Year: 

Michele Fogal, Fresno County 
Role: Games Management Team, Assistant Games Director 

From her nominations: 
“Michele travels every year to assist in the  Soccer Regional Competition and SONC Summer Games and is always willing to travel when needed. Her dedication to the athletes is truly amazing and very much appreciated. Michele is always the first to step up and volunteer when an opportunity is presented.”   


Youth Volunteer of the Year: 

Maxwell Green, San Joaquin County 
Role: Coach 

From his nominations: 
“In all of his endeavors, Max shows leadership qualities, and encourages his volunteers and athletes to be leaders, too. He is quick to praise effort and is generous with his time. Families and athletes alike know they could count on Max to help them get the job done.”   


Congrats to all of the 2019 Nominees:

Alexis Wyscarver, Amy Brown, Anthony Hernandez, Arushi Nety, Beverly Olson, Brian Wentzel, Bryan Enloe, Cameron Tsang, Captain Aaron Konrad, Carl Gayle, Carol Waldron, Carole Farris, Cathi Aurich, Cecilia Yarra, Charlotte  Prendergast, Chloe Brause, Chris Gonzales, Chris Weber, Christina Bacci, Christine Costamagna, Cindy Verrill, Colleen Rouleau, Curtis Young, Cynthia Jones, Danny Rodrigues, Darlene Emerton, Debbie Donnahoe, Dewayne Schendel, Dirk Dino, Donna Hepp, Duane McBride, Dublin CHP Senior Volunteers, Edward Reister, Elane Galvan, Emma Bustamante, Eric Geibel, Frank Baldan, Gabe Farias, Greg Keenan, Greg McKinney, Harvey Rouleau IV, Jack Prichard, Jackie Wheeler, Jamie Steingraf, Jenn Wilson, Joanne Larkin, Joe Bazor, Julie Casena, Kathleen Barber, Kayla Strelo, Leah Applegarth, Leslie Francavilla, Lisa Tomasello, Loralie Carillo, Malik Rodriquez, Marianna Warmee, Mary Jean Brink, Maxwell Green, Michele Fogal, Molly Delnero, Monique Mingione, Pamela Bailey Espinoza, Rithvik Dirisala, Robert Papp, Ron Melvin, Saathvik Dirisala, Sally Lok, Sandra Benge, Sharon Scudero, Shirley Surber, Sterling Bobbitt, Steve Highland, Suzanne Barlow, Suzanne Lerner, Suzy Andrade, Tim Dutra, Tim O'Brien, Tom Novello, Tracy Rivkin


Become a Volunteer